Michael Weiner Sports Lawyers Association Award of Excellence

2022 Recipient

Renee Montgomery, a West Virginia native with 3 Girls State Basketball Championships, graduated from UConn as a two-time All-American in 2009 and played on an undefeated team that went on to win the NCAA championship that year. She was drafted 4th overall in the WNBA and is a 2 time WNBA Champion while also being named All-Star and 6th Woman of the Year in her 11 year professional career. In broadcasting, she serves as a sports analyst and host to numerous shows including her own weekly podcast “Montgomery & Co.” In February 2021, Montgomery decided to retire after sitting out of the 2020 WNBA season to focus on social justice reform. That same year, she became co-owner and Vice President of the Atlanta Dream, making her the first WNBA player to become an owner and executive of a WNBA team.


Previous Award Recipients

2021 Jim Delany
2019 Ray Anderson
2018 George H. Cohen
2017 Scott Blackmun
2016 Donald Fehr
2014 Larry Lucchino
2013 Donald Dell
2012 Dick Moss
2011 Gene Upshaw
2010 Jerry Colangelo
2009 Jerry Reinsdorf
2008 Donna Lopiano
2007 Alan H. (Bud) Selig
2005 Paul J. Tagliabue
2004 Marvin J. Miller
2000 Stanley H. Kasten
1997 Reuven J. Katz
1994 Gary Bettman and Jay Moyer
1993 Lloyd E. Shefsky and John F. Wendel
1992 Anita L. DeFrantz
1991 Alan I. Rothenberg