The Award Criteria

- Candidate may be a lawyer or non-lawyer and must have at least five years experience in sports law or a sports field in general. Candidate does not have to be currently active in the sports industry. Award can be made posthumously.
- Candidate exhibits "service-above-self" attitude. This would have been demonstrated by a record of community involvement, public service, or other engagements that clearly have had a positive, motivating effect on others.
- Candidate must be regarded as a person with high integrity and ethics and possess the qualities held in highest regard by those in the field of sports law.
- Candidate must have a consistent record of presenting the practice and/or theory of sports law in a positive light to the sports world and the public in general.

Nomination Process

 Nominations are accepted from active members of the Sports Lawyers Association[®] and members of the Selection Committee.

Selection Committee

— The Selection Committee is, at a minimum, composed of three representatives of the association. At the discretion of SLA's president, the Selection Committee can be expanded to include not more than seven members, and one member of the committee serves as chairperson.

Presentation of the Award

— The Award of Excellence is presented during the Sports Lawyers Association[®] Annual Conference.

Public Relations

— The Sports Lawyers Association® engages in focusing attention on the award through its contacts with the sports media and sports broadcast industry.

SLA Officers

Matthew J. Mitten, President Glenn M. Wong, Immediate Past President Vered Yakovee, Secretary Ash Narayan, Treasurer Gabe Feldman, Director of Publications

SLA Board of Directors

Jeffrev E. Benz Robert H. Lattinville Jessica Berman Nona M. Lee Jean-Jacques Bertrand Matthew J. Mitten Adolpho A. Birch, III Ash Narayan Mary K. Braza Vicky Neumeyer Stokely G. Caldwell, Jr. David M. Prouty Dennis M. Coleman Allison Rich William David Cornwell, Sr. Robert H. Ruxin William Dalv Kenneth Shropshire Tom DePaso Brian Socolow Richard J. Ensor Debbie L. Spander Gabe Feldman Naima M. Stevenson Lavth Gafoor Michael B. Tannenbaum Richard M. Thigpen Jeffrey B. Gewirtz C. Peter Goplerud Travis T. Tygart Robert "Bobby" A. Hacker Stephanie I. Vardavas Daniel Halem Glenn M. Wong Roger P. Kaplan Vered Yakovee

Former Presidents

Tony Agnone Gary R. Roberts
Richard A. Berthelsen Richard Thigpen, Jr.
Gordon I. Kirke, Q.C. Robert E. Wallace, Jr.
Pamela R. Lester William Y. Webb
A. Jackson Mills John F. Wendel

Directors Emeriti

Dennis Curran Richard M. Moss
Donald M. Fehr Jay Moyer
Craig E. Fenech Lloyd E. Shefsky,
Reuven J. Katz Founder & President Emeritus
Stan Kasten Richard L. Wagenheim



Sports Lawyers Association®

12100 Sunset Hills Road | Suite 130 Reston, Virginia 20190

703.437.4377 | FAX 703.435.4390 www.sportslaw.org



2016 Michael Weiner Award of Excellence



Donald Fehr



2016 Recipient: Donald Fehr

Donald Fehr is the Executive Director of the National Hockey League Players' Association (NHLPA), a position he held since December 18, 2010. Since joining the NHLPA, Don has focused his efforts on building active participation by players in their union, and has travelled extensively to meet and consult with players around the league.

Prior to joining the NHLPA, Mr. Fehr spent 33 years with the Major League Baseball Players Association – the last 26 as Executive Director. Mr. Fehr brought the same goals to the NHLPA that he maintained with the MLBPA by keeping the players involved and informed and developing a strong consensus on all important issues. In 2012/13 he kept his constituents united in

"Don helped build the strength of baseball's union by keeping the players involved and informed, and developed a strong consensus on all important issues. He has done the same at the NHLPA."

negotiating through the 113-day NHL Owners' lockout. Over his time with the MLBPA, Fehr successfully maintained unity through one lockout and two strikes; litigated the collusion cases of the 1980s which led to the owners paying \$280 million in damages to the players; won the bad-faith bargaining case that ended the 1994-95 strike and subsequently negotiated an agreement and negotiated new agreements with MLB in 2002 and 2006. These achievements resulted in an extended era of uninterrupted play and new levels of stability in baseball labor relations.

Don helped build the strength of baseball's union by keeping the players involved and informed, and developed a strong consensus on all important issues. He has done the same at the NHLPA.

Previous Award Recipients:

1991 | Alan I. Rothenberg

1992 | Anita L. DeFrantz

1993 | Lloyd E. Shefsky & John F. Wendel

1994 | Gary Bettman & Jay Moyer

1997 | Reuven J. Katz

2000 | Stanley H. Kasten

2004 | Marvin J. Miller

2005 | Paul J. Tagliabue

2007 | Alan H. (Bud) Selig

2008 | Donna A. Lopiano, BS, MA, PhD

2009 | Jerry Reinsdorf

2010 | Jerry Colangelo

2011 | Gene Upshaw

2012 | Dick Moss

2013 | Donald L. Dell

2014 | Larry Luchino