

Sports Lawyers Association

12100 Sunset Hills Road | Suite 130 | Reston, Virginia 20190 703.437.4377 | Fax 703.435.4390 | www.sportslaw.org

For Immediate Release

Officers Glenn M. Wong President

Matthew J. Mitten President Elect

Vered N. Yakovee Secretary

Ash Narayan Treasurer

Board of Directors Anthony J. Agnone Jeffrey G. Benz Jessica Berman Jean-Jacques Bertrand Mary K Braza Stokely G. Caldwell, Jr. Dennis M. Coleman W. David Cornwell William Daly Tom DePaso Richard J. Ensor Gabe Feldman Craig E. Fenech Jeffrey B. Gewirtz Peter Goplerud Robert Hacker Roger P. Kaplan Robert H Lattinville Nona M. Lee Matthew J. Mitten Ash Narayan Vicky Neumeyer David M. Prouty Allison Rich Gary R. Roberts Robert H. Ruxin Kenneth Shropshire Deborah L. Spander Naima Stevenson Michael B Tannenbaum Richard M. Thiopen Travis T. Tygart Stephanie Vardavas Richard L. Wagenheim Glenn M. Wong Vered N. Yakovee

Past Presidents Richard A. Berthelsen Gordon I. Kirke, Q.C. Pamela R. Lester A. Jackson Mills Richard E. Thigpen, Jr. Robert E. Wallace, Jr. William Y. Webb John F. Wendel

Directors Emeriti

Dennis Curran Donald M. Fehr Stanley H. Kasten Returen J. Katz Richard M. Moss Jay Moyer Lloyd E. Shefsky (Founder and President Emeritus)

Director of Publications Gabe Feldman

Richard A. Guggolz Executive Director

William M. Drohan, CAE Deputy Executive Director

Melissa M. Pomerene Program Manager

SPORTS LAWYERS ASSOCIATION ANNOUNCES WINNERS OF 2015 LAW STUDENT WRITING COMPETITION

RESTON, Va. (May 15, 2015) – The Sports Lawyers Association (SLA) announced the winners of the third annual SLA Law Student Writing Competition during today's SLA Conference luncheon at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront in Baltimore, MD. The SLA is the leading organization of professionals dedicated to the practicing and teaching of sports law in the United States, and one of the leading such organizations in the world.

In order to be considered for the SLA Law Student Writing Competition, currently enrolled law students were required to choose a current issue in sports law and advocate a position in their written submission.

"The Sports Lawyers Association is pleased to honor these three deserving law students in our third annual law student writing competition," said Roger Kaplan, SLA Law Student Writing Competition Committee Chair. "The SLA is proud to provide this writing competition and we are pleased that we had over 40 entries to consider this year. This contest is an excellent opportunity for law students to enhance their writing capabilities and compete for a cash prize."

The 2015 SLA Law Student Writing Competition winners are:

First Place – \$5,000 prize Justin Bryant University of Notre Dame Law School THE FEDERAL TAX RAMIFICATIONS OF PAYING STUDENT-ATHLETES: HOW O'BANNON v. NCAA MAY BE COSTLIER THAN EVERYONE ENVISIONS

Second Place – \$3,000 prize Susan Schwartz Loyola Law School, Los Angeles FOULED OUT: WELLS v. XAVIER UNIVERSITY AND THE IMPACT OF TITLE IX ON THE WRONGFULLY ACCUSED

Third Place – \$2,000 prize Brandon Knop Northwestern University Law School ALEX 'ROID'RIGUEZ: LEGAL ALTERNATIVES FOR MLB PLAYER CONTRACT TERMINATION IN THE POST-STEROID ERA

The 2015 SLA Conference Committee is chaired by Gabe Feldman, with vice-chairs Jeffrey G. Benz and Robert A. Hacker. Conference registration, agenda, hotel information and other details are available at <u>www.sportslaw.org</u> (Agenda is subject to change).

Please follow the Sports Lawyers Association on Twitter @sportslawyers, where conference updates and panel highlights will be posted using hashtag #SLAC15. Please direct media inquiries and credential requests to Sports Lawyers Association Conference Media Contact: Kathy Connors, KMC Consulting, <u>kathyconnors@kmcconsults.net</u> 703-980-8328 @KMCConsults.