

Officers

Glenn M. Wong President

Anthony J. Agnone

Peter S. Roisman Secretary

Board of Directors Anthony J. Aqnone

Jeffrey G. Benz

Jessica Berman

Jean-Jacques Bertrand Mary K Braza

Stokely G. Caldwell. Jr.

Dennis M. Coleman W. David Cornwell Dennis Curran

William Daly Tom DePaso

Richard J. Ensor

Gabe Feldman Craig E. Fenech

Jeffrey B. Gewirtz Peter Goplerud Robert Hacker

Roger P. Kaplan

Robert H. Lattinville Nona M. Lee

Robert D. Manfred, Jr.

Matthew J. Mitten Jay Moyer

Vicky Neumeyer Allison Rich Gary R. Roberts

Robert H. Ruxin

Kenneth Shropshire Deborah L. Spander

Naima Stevenson

Stephanie Vardavas Richard L. Wagenheim Robert E. Wallace, Jr.

Glenn M. Wong

Directors Emeriti Richard A Berthelsen

Donald M. Fehr Stanley H. Kasten

Reuven J. Katz Gordon I. Kirke, Q.C. Pamela R. Lester A. Jackson Mills Richard M. Moss Lloyd E. Shefsky

Michael B. Tannenbaum Travis T. Tygart

Ash Narayan

Treasurer

Immediate Past President

## **Sports Lawyers**

12100 Sunset Hills Road | Suite 130 | Reston, Virginia 20190 703.437.4377 | Fax 703.435.4390 | www.sportslaw.org

For Immediate Release

## BOSTON RED SOX PRESIDENT & CEO LARRY LUCCHINO NAMED 2014 SPORTS LAWYERS ASSOCIATION AWARD OF EXCELLENCE WINNER

RESTON, Va. (April 17, 2014) – The Sports Lawyers Association (SLA), announced today that Boston Red Sox President/CEO Larry Lucchino has been named the 2014 SLA Award of Excellence winner. Lucchino will be presented the award and deliver the Luncheon Address at the SLA 40<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference at the Fairmont Hotel in Chicago on Friday May 16<sup>th</sup>. Lucchino will be introduced by Los Angeles Dodgers President, SLA Board member and 2000 Award of Excellence winner Stan Kasten.

"The Sports Lawyers Association is thrilled to be presenting our Award of Excellence to Larry Lucchino," said Glenn Wong, Professor, Mark H. McCormack Department of Sport Management at UMass Amherst and SLA President. "Larry is an exceptional Major League Baseball executive who has made a significant impact on three MLB franchises. He is a vital part of the Red Sox leadership group that has helped bring three World Series Championship titles to Boston over the last decade. He has also been a driving force in the Red Sox organization's efforts to innovate and remain one of the most valuable brands in sports."

"I am honored to be the 18<sup>th</sup> recipient of the Sports Lawyers Association Award of Excellence," said Lucchino. "This accolade has been presented to prominent sports industry leaders and lawyers throughout the years. I feel quite privileged to join the very distinguished list of honorees that the SLA has recognized with this award."

Lucchino, a veteran of 35 years in Major League Baseball was named President/CEO of the Red Sox in February of 2002. Previously he served as President/CEO of the Baltimore Orioles (1988-93) and the San Diego Padres (1995-01). With the Red Sox, Lucchino manages the franchise on a day-to-day basis with the active involvement of, and in collaboration with, Principal Owner John W. Henry and Chairman Tom Werner.

Lucchino has won rings with each franchise – the Orioles (1983 World Series) the Padres (1998 National League Pennant) and the Red Sox (2004, 2007, and 2013 World Series). In addition to running championship franchises and setting attendance marks, he has earned a legacy for creating ballparks that have transformed the fan experience, enhanced franchise values, and positively impacted the greater civic community.

Born in Pittsburgh, Lucchino was an All-City League basketball player and a second baseman on the Pittsburgh city championship baseball team at Taylor Allderdice High School. He graduated with honors from Princeton University and is a graduate of the Yale Law School. At Princeton, he was a member of two Ivy League championship basketball teams.

## Sports Lawyers Association Award of Excellence Winners

	1991	Alan I. Rothenberg	2007	Alan H. (Bud) Selig
	1992	Anita L. DeFrantz	2008	Donna Lopiano
	1993	Lloyd E. Shefsky and John F. Wendel	2009	Jerry Reinsdorf
	1994	Gary Bettman and Jay Moyer	2010	Jerry Colangelo
U:	1997	Reuven J. Katz	2011	Gene Upshaw
	2000	Stanley H. Kasten	2012	Dick Moss
	2004	Marvin J. Miller	2013	Donald Dell
	2005	Paul J. Tagliabue	2014	Larry Lucchino

Director of Publications Gabe Feldman

(Founder and President Emeritu. Richard E. Thigpen, Jr. Robert E. Wallace, Jr. William Y. Webb John F. Wendel

Richard A. Guggolz Executive Director

William M. Drohan, CAE

Conference registration, agenda, hotel information and other details are available at <u>www.sportslaw.org</u> (Agenda is subject to change). Please follow the Sports Lawyers Association on Twitter @SportsLawyers where conference updates and panel highlights will be posted using hashtag #SLAC14.

Sports Lawyers Association Media Contact: Kathy Connors, KMC Consulting, <u>kathyconnors@kmcconsults.net</u> 703-980-8328 @KMCConsults