#### **The Award Criteria**

- Candidate may be a lawyer or non-lawyer and must have at least five years experience in sports law or a sports field in general. Candidate does not have to be currently active in the sports industry. Award can be made posthumously.
- Candidate exhibits "service-above-self" attitude. This would have been demonstrated by a record of community involvement, public service, or other engagements that clearly have had a positive, motivating effect on others.
- Candidate must be regarded as a person with high integrity and ethics and possess the qualities held in highest regard by those in the field of sports law.
- Candidate must have a consistent record of presenting the practice and/or theory of sports law in a positive light to the sports world and the public in general.

#### **Nomination Process**

 Nominations are accepted from active members of the Sports Lawyers Association<sup>®</sup> and members of the Selection Committee.

#### **Selection Committee**

— The Selection Committee is, at a minimum, composed of three representatives of the association. At the discretion of SLA's president, the Selection Committee can be expanded to include not more than seven members, and one member of the committee serves as chairperson.

#### **Presentation of the Award**

— The Award of Excellence is presented during the Sports Lawyers Association<sup>®</sup> Annual Conference.

#### **Public Relations**

— The Sports Lawyers Association<sup>®</sup> engages in focusing attention on the award through its contacts with the sports media and sports broadcast industry.

#### **SLA Officers**

Glenn M. Wong, President Anthony J. Agnone, Immediate Past President Peter Roisman, Secretary Ash Narayan, Treasurer Gabe Feldman, Director of Publications

#### **SLA Board of Directors**

Anthony J. Agnone Jeffrev E. Benz Iessica Berman Jean-Jacques Bertrand Mary K. Braza Stokely G. Caldwell, Jr. Dennis M. Coleman William Cornwell, Sr. Dennis Curran William Daly Tom DePaso Richard J. Ensor Gabe Feldman Craig E. Fenech Libba Galloway Jeffrey B. Gewirtz Peter Goplerud Robert A. Hacker Roger P. Kaplan Stanley H. Kasten

Nona M. Lee Robert D. Manfred, Jr. Matthew J. Mitten Ash Narayan Vicky Neumeyer Allison Rich Gary R. Roberts Peter Roisman Robert H. Ruxin Kenneth Shropshire Deborah L. Spander Naima Stevenson Michael B. Tannenbaum Travis T. Tygart Stephanie J. Vardavas Richard L. Wagenheim Robert Wallace, Jr.

Glenn M. Wong

Robert H. Lattinville

#### **Directors Emeriti**

Richard A. Berthelsen
Donald M. Fehr
Reuven J. Katz
Gordon I. Kirke
Pamela R. Lester
A. Jackson Mills

Richard M. Moss
Lloyd E. Shefsky
(Founder and President Emeritus)
Richard E. Thigpen, Jr.
William Y. Webb
John F. Wendel



### Sports Lawyers Association®

12100 Sunset Hills Road | Suite 130 Reston, Virginia 20190

703.437.4377 | FAX 703.435.4390 www.sportslaw.org



# 2014 Award of Excellence



**Larry Lucchino** 



# **2014 Recipient: Larry Lucchino**

Larry Lucchino was named President/CEO of the Red Sox at the closing of the purchase of the team in February, 2002. Previously President/CEO of the Baltimore Orioles (1988-93) and the San Diego Padres (1995-01), Lucchino is a veteran of 35 years in Major League Baseball. With the Red Sox, Lucchino manages the franchise on a day-to-day basis with the active involvement of, and in collaboration with, Principal Owner John W. Henry and Chairman Tom Werner.

He has won rings with each franchise. The Orioles won the 1983 World Series, the Padres won the 1998 National League Pennant, and the Red Sox won the 2004, 2007, and 2013 World Series. The historic victory in 2004 ended Boston's 86-year championship drought.

In his 25 full seasons as a President/CEO, his clubs have a winning record of 2,061-1,808 (.533), have reached post-season play nine times, have won four pennants, and three World Series. In those 25 seasons, attendance has improved over the previous year 16 times and the franchises have set club attendance records 13 times, including an 8 year stretch with the Red Sox, topping 3 million for the first time in Red Sox history in 2008, and again surpassing 3 million in 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012.

Lucchino is the first President/CEO to win pennants for two different franchises—let alone in two different leagues—since Hall of Fame executive Larry MacPhail more than 50 years ago with the Brooklyn Dodgers (1941) and the New York Yankees (1947). They are the only two to have done so.

In addition to running championship franchises and setting attendance marks, Lucchino has earned a legacy for creating ballparks that have transformed the fan experience, enhanced franchise values, and positively impacted the greater civic community. His original vision for the design of Oriole Park at Camden Yards —a traditional, old-fashioned, asymmetrical, intimate downtown ballpark with modern amenities - ushered in an era of revolutionary ballpark architecture and ambiance responsible in part for the game's resurgence since 1992.

He also had the vision for Petco Park, the ballpark that saved baseball in San Diego, and he was instrumental in pulling together the ownership group that joined John Henry and Tom Werner in their successful effort to purchase the Red Sox. While every other group that sought to purchase the Red Sox advocated a replacement for Fenway Park, the group led by Henry, Werner, and Lucchino was the only one that committed itself to save —and improve—America's most beloved ballpark. The ownership group officially formalized its commitment to keep Fenway Park long term on March 23, 2005, just months after winning the 2004 World Series and breaking the curse of the Bambino.

Born in Pittsburgh, Lucchino was an All-City League basketball player and a second baseman on the Pittsburgh city championship baseball team at Taylor Allderdice High School. He graduated with honors from Princeton University and is a graduate of the Yale Law School. At Princeton, he was a member of two Ivy League championship basketball teams. The avid sportsman has the unique distinction of earning World Series rings (Orioles, '83; Red Sox, '04, '07, '13), a Super Bowl ring (Redskins, '83), and a Final Four watch (Princeton, '65).

## **Previous Award Recipients:**

1991 | Alan I. Rothenberg

1992 | Anita L. DeFrantz

1993 | Lloyd E. Shefsky & John F. Wendel

1994 | Gary Bettman & Jay Moyer

1997 | Reuven J. Katz

2000 | Stanley H. Kasten

2004 | Marvin J. Miller

2005 | Paul J. Tagliabue

2007 | Alan H. (Bud) Selig

2008 | Donna A. Lopiano, BS, MA, PhD

2009 | Jerry Reinsdorf

2010 | Jerry Colangelo

2011 | Gene Upshaw

2012 | Dick Moss

2013 | Donald L. Dell