## **The Award Criteria**

- Candidate may be a lawyer or non-lawyer and must have at least five years experience in sports law or a sports field in general. Candidate does not have to be currently active in the sports industry. Award can be made posthumously.
- Candidate exhibits "service-above-self" attitude. This would have been demonstrated by a record of community involvement, public service, or other engagements that clearly have had a positive, motivating effect on others.
- Candidate must be regarded as a person with high integrity and ethics and possess the qualities held in highest regard by those in the field of sports law.
- Candidate must have a consistent record of presenting the practice and/or theory of sports law in a positive light to the sports world and the public in general.

#### **Nomination Process**

• Nominations are accepted from active members of the Sports Lawyers Association<sup>®</sup> and members of the Selection Committee.

#### **Selection Committee**

• The Selection Committee is, at a minimum, composed of three representatives of the association. At the discretion of SLA's president, the Selection Committee can be expanded to include not more than seven members, and one member of the committee serves as chairperson.

#### **Presentation of the Award**

• The Award of Excellence is presented during the Sports Lawyers Association<sup>®</sup> Annual Conference.

#### **Public Relations**

 The Sports Lawyers Association<sup>®</sup> engages in focusing attention on the award through its contacts with the sports media and sports broadcast industry.

# **SLA Officers**

Anthony J. Agnone, President Robert E. Wallace, Jr., Immediate Past President Peter Roisman, Secretary Ash Narayan, Treasurer Gabe Feldman, Director of Publications

# **SLA Board of Directors**

Anthony J. Agnone Jessica Berman Jeffery G. Benz Jean-Jacques Bertrand Stokely G. Caldwell, Jr. Dennis M. Coleman W. David Cornwell Dennis Curran William Daly Keven J. Davis Gabe Feldman Craig E. Fenech Libba Galloway Jeffrey B. Gewirtz Peter Goplerud Robert A. Hacker Roger P. Kaplan Stanley H. Kasten

# **Directors Emeriti**

Richard A. Berthelsen Donald M. Fehr Reuven J. Katz Gordon I. Kirke Pamela R. Lester A. Jackson Mills Richard M. Moss Lloyd E. Shefsky *(Founder and President Emeritus)* Richard E. Thigpen, Jr. William Y. Webb John F. Wendel

Robert H. Lattinville

Robert D. Manfred, Jr.

Matthew J. Mitten

Vicky Neumeyer

Gary R. Roberts

Robert H. Ruxin

Travis T. Tygart

Michael Winer

Glenn M. Wong

Stephanie Vardavas

Richard L. Wagenheim

Robert E. Wallace, Jr.

Kenneth Shropshire

Deborah L. Spander

Michael B. Tannenbaum

Nona M. Lee

Jay Moyer

Allison Rich

## **Sports Lawyers Association®**

12100 Sunset Hills Road | Suite 130 | Reston, VA 20190 703.437.4377 | FAX 703.435.4390 | www.sportslaw.org



# 2013 Award of Excellence



# **Donald L. Dell**



No history of professional sports could be complete without a chapter devoted to the contributions of ProServ Founder and Chairman, and Group President of Lagardere Unlimited, Donald L. Dell. In fact, the history of tennis, particularly the sport's Open era, might as well be a chronology of Dell's career in sports marketing and management, and television.

In 1968 and 1969, Dell had just captained the United States Davis Cup team to its second consecutive World Championship. The team's players, however, faced an uncertain future as tennis was turning into a professional sport—the beginning of "Open Tennis". Two players who would dominate the game for much of the next decade, Arthur Ashe and Stan Smith, turned to Dell, an accomplished Washington D.C. attorney, asking him to further their opportunities in the sports marketplace and represent them in their future professional careers.

At the time, Dell had become fascinated with the growth potential of sports, and recognized athletes' need for sound career management. He also anticipated the need of major corporations for assistance in developing effective sports marketing programs. Soon thereafter Dell founded ProServ, which quickly assumed a leadership role in the sports marketing industry. ProServ's success led to its being acquired in 1999 by SFX as an integral part of the SFX Sports Group, which was subsequently purchased by Blue Equity and known as BEST. In the Spring of 2010 BEST was bought by the French sports group, Lagardere and is now operating as Lagardere Unlimited.

Over the course of his career, Dell has developed some of the most significant and longest-lived partnerships between sponsors and sports properties. He has negotiated nearly one billion dollars in sponsorships and endorsements throughout his illustrious career, including the 2001 FedEx Naming Rights deal with the Washington Redskins ("FedEx Field"), over \$205 million, the largest in NFL history. He currently oversees and distributes many of SFX and SFX Television's properties including the French Open, The U.S. Open, the Citi Open Championships, the Boston Marathon and 20 ATP tennis telecasts on FOX Sports Net.

Dell also served as a trial lawyer with Hogan & Hartson and as a political aide to Robert F. Kennedy. He attended Yale University, the University of Virginia Law School and received an Honorary Doctorate from St. John's University.

In 1989, Dell published *Minding Other People's Business*, a book chronicling many of his experiences and anecdotes representing clients. His second book, *Never Make The First Offer* was published in September 2009, based on Dell's negotiations and experiences (dealmaking) in his sports business activities. Dell currently serves as the Vice Chairman of the International Tennis Hall of Fame, and as an adjunct professor in Sports Law at the University of Virginia School of Law. He was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in July 2009 and awarded the Champions Award by the *Sports Business Journal* in 2013.

# **Previous Award Recipients:**